Cole Pauley

Lexington quarterback Cole Pauley throws on the run as Mount Vernon's Easton Groom chases him during Saturday's Ohio Cardinal Conference game at Lexington.

ASHLAND — Ashland linebacker Jakob Beverly and coach Sean Seder were special award winners when the Ohio Cardinal Conference teams were introduced Monday.

A 6-foot-1, 215-pound senior, Beverly was selected the OCC Defensive Player of the Year after piling up a team-high 159 tackles. He had a team-best five sacks, intercepted a pass, forced a fumble and recovered a fumble.

Seder shared the Coach of the Year award with Wooster’s Doug Haas and West Holmes’ Zach Gardner. The Arrows, Generals and Knights each had one OCC loss this fall with Ashland beating Wooster 46-35 in a shootout on Nov. 6 in Wooster. The Arrows finished the year 8-2 and reached the Division III, Region 10 semifinals before falling on a last-second field goal to Parma Heights Holy Name.

The Arrows were well-represented on the OCC first team. Seniors Declan Rohr, Jaden Jones, Jake Bever, Ethan Hartley and Kristian Gehrisch were joined by junior Kadin Schmitz.

Other area first-team selections included Mansfield Senior’s Seth Miller, Aveon Grose and Myles Bradley; Madison’s Nate Barrett and Isaac Brooks; Lexington’s Alexander Harkness and Brayden Stoots; and Mount Vernon’s Ethan Laslo, Easton Groom and Nate Stradley.

Area players on the second team were: Ashland’s Chase Blessing, Sean Hanna, Chase Dillow, Landon McFrederick and Braylen Hider; Mansfield Senior’s Mekhi Bradley, Tyshaundre Hall and Ricky Mills; Madison’s Jacob Johnson and Ian McGregor; and Mount Vernon’s Jonny Askew and Joel Hubbard.

Honorable mention selections were: Ashland’s Triton Schuster, Tommy Carpenter and Jaylen Colbert; Mansfield Senior’s Brock Hill, Amazon Robertson and Amarr Davis; Madison’s Trenton Osborne, Hunter Hutcheson and Phil Stupka; Lexington’s Hudson Moore, Karson Berry and Ammon Parr; and Mount Vernon’s A.J. Keen and Zach Thomas.

Wooster’s Owen Roach was selected the Offensive Player of the Year. West Holmes’ Nate Ginsburg was the Special Teams Player of the Year.

Power our sports coverage!

For as long as local teams and athletes are in the playoffs, our memberships are 50% off! Just use the code TAKESTATE50 at checkout and you'll be all set. Your support entirely funds local reporting.