Danville runner dragged down.JPG

East Knox and Danville will be in Division VII, Region 27 during the upcoming Ohio High School football season.

COLUMBUS — North central Ohio’s four biggest high schools will again be grouped in the same region this fall.

The Ohio High School Athletic Association on Tuesday released its regional assignments for the upcoming football season and Mansfield Senior, Madison, Lexington and Ashland all will call Region 10 of Division III home.

Mount Vernon, which is a member of the Ohio Cardinal Conference along with Mansfield Senior, Madison, Lex and Ashland, is the area’s only Division II school and will again be in Region 7.

Each of the OHSAA’s seven enrollment divisions are divided into four regions based loosely on geography. Region 10 includes 28 schools and extends from Cleveland to Defiance and Toledo to Millersburg.

Divisional assignments for the 2021-22 school year will remain the same as last year. Normally the divisional assignments would be adjusted for the upcoming school year based on enrollment data collected in October of 2020. Because most schools were utilizing some sort of remote learning model last fall, the OHSAA decided to delay the enrollment data collection until this October.

Local Mid-Ohio Athletic Conference members Ontario, Clear Fork, Shelby and Galion all will be in Region 14 of Division IV. The 25-school region encompasses northwest Ohio.

Area schools will be represented in three of the four regions in Division VI. Hillsdale is in Region 21, while Crestview is in Region 22. Loudonville is in Region 23, along with Fredericktown and Centerburg.

Defending regional runner-up Lucas will again be in Region 25 of Division VII, along with Plymouth and Mapleton. East Knox and Danville will be in Division VII, Region 27.

Power our sports coverage!

Help make local news that keeps you informed and connected with your community sustainable in Knox County. Be a member for less than $5/month.