Coffee with Council logo

MOUNT VERNON β€” Mount Vernon City Council opened the public participation portion of its legislative meeting to allow residents more time to discuss any matters of city relevance.

In an effort to extend availability to the citizens of Mount Vernon, council will hold monthly conversations with the public beginning in February.

Coffee with Council will take place on the third Saturday of each month from 8:30 to 10 a.m., at Everlasting Cup, 510 S. Main St.

β€œIn our organizational meeting, it was clear this new council has a strong desire to be available and transparent with our constituency,” said Samantha Scoles, First Ward representative and chair for the Employee and Community Relations Committee. "Bringing back a program started by President Bruce Hawkins years ago is a direct result of our commitment to the people we represent to keep open lines of communication and have a clear understanding of what the residents want and need."

Dates for 2020 are set for Feb. 15, March 21, April 18, May 16, June 20, July 18, Aug. 15, Sept. 19, Oct. 17, Nov. 21 and Dec. 19.

Participants are encouraged to use parking in the north and south areas of the parking lot at Everlasting Cup.

Council members are:

Bruce E. Hawkins, President, 740-392-8106, bhawkins@mountvernonohio.org

Samantha Scoles, First Ward, 740-263-1263, sscoles@mountvernonohio.org

John Francis, Second Ward, 740-392-7146, jfrancis@mountvernonohio.org

Tammy Woods, Third Ward, 740-504-8262, twoods@mountvernonohio.org

Mike Hillier, Fourth Ward, 740- 397-7548, mhillier@mountvernonohio.org

Tanner Salyers, At-Large, 740-616-8731, tsalyers@mountvernonohio.org

Julia Warga, At-Large, 740-358-0570, jwarga@mountvernonohio.org

Janis Seavolt, At-Large, 740-397-0541, jseavolt@mountvernonohio.org

Council agendas are available at http://mountvernoncityoh.iqm2.com/citizens/default.aspx.

Support Our Journalism

Our stories will always be free to read, but they aren't free to produce. We need your support. To help our news organization tell Knox County's story every day, join our team. Become a member today.