Food For The Hungry broadcast

Marcy Rinehart of WNZR (far right) and Curtis Newland of WMVO/93.7 The Super Q (far left) interview Matt Starr of Kokosing River Productions during the 2018 Food For The Hungry live broadcast.

MOUNT VERNON – Local media outlets will join together this weekend for the 38th annual Food For The Hungry (FFTH) drive, to benefit The Salvation Army, Interchurch Social Services and 28 other food and poverty assistance initiatives in Knox County.

A live broadcast of all the day’s events begins Saturday, Dec. 14 at 9 a.m. and continues until 5 p.m. on 100.9 FM and 13WMVO Radio with live video streaming at MVNU.TV and the FFTH Facebook page.

The broadcast will originate from the Knox County Memorial Building on East High Street.

Local media personalities Marcy Rinehart of WNZR, and Curtis Newland of WMVO/93.7 The Super Q will serve as hosts for the event. The Mount Vernon Nazarene University (MVNU) Department of Communication, BAS Broadcasting, the Knox County Memorial Building, Wayne Bower, J.R. Bonham, Kokosing River Productions and Spectrum are donating broadcast production and technical support.

This year’s broadcast, as always, will feature several community members and organizations presenting their contributions to the drive. FFTH will present $42,500 in mini-grants throughout the day. A number of Knox County elementary, middle, and high school student collection winners will also be recognized.

This year’s entertainment will have a family focus. Mark, Kami and Carter Owen will sing three Christmas songs, and the brother and sister duo of Aubrey and Luke Bailey will also perform.

At 12:00 p.m., the webcast will have short video features on three FFTH grant recipients – Mount Vernon Association of Police Chaplains Half Units, Lifepoint Church Backpacks of Hope and the Covenant Food Pantry.

Viewers will also see a tribute to Mark and Denise Ramser, recipients of this year’s William A. Stroud Award for community service from Kenyon College.

The Knox County Career Center themed baskets will be on display in Veterans Hall for silent bidders until 3:00, with winners announced at 3:30 p.m.

At 3:10 p.m., MVNU will present the annual Stephen Zelkowitz Memorial Award, which honors service to the FFTH drive. This year’s recipient is Cindi Doolittle. Kenyon College will present the exciting results of this year’s Snowflake Gala at 3:45 p.m.

Radio stations providing updates throughout the day from City Hall include WNZR 90.9 FM and 93.7 The Super Q. Updates will also be provided on the FFTH Facebook page.

Visitors and donors are encouraged to join this year’s celebration of giving by entering the Memorial Building through the central steps leading to Veterans Hall. Handicapped access will be available as well by following the signs provided.

For more information about this year’s drive or to donate online, log on to

Support Our Journalism

Our content is free and always will be - but we rely on your support to sustain it.