Ariel Foundation logo

MOUNT VERNON -- The Ariel Foundation is pleased to announce the following recipients of $5,000 engineering scholarships for the 2019-2020 academic year: Sean Badger, Erin Lawhon and Ryan Matthews have been awarded the Tom Rastin Engineering Scholarship; and Michelle Silverwood and Shaye Tiell were awarded the James P. Buchwald Engineering Scholarship.

Sean Badger graduated from Mount Vernon High School in 2017 and currently attends the University of Dayton pursuing a degree in mechanical engineering. Sean is the son of Keith and Deanna Badger.

Erin Lawhon graduated from Mount Vernon High School in 2016 and is in Grace College’s mechanical engineering program in partnership with Trine University. Erin is the daughter of Ryan Rupp and Sara Lawhon.

Ryan Matthews is a 2017 graduate of Fredericktown High School and is attending The University of Akron for an electrical engineering degree. Ryan is the son of Ronald and Linda Matthews.

Michelle Silverwood is a 2016 graduate of Mount Vernon High School and is in the University of Cincinnati’s civil engineering program. Michelle is the daughter of Steven and Norma Silverwood.

Shaye Tiell is a 2017 graduate of Mount Vernon High School and is studying biomedical engineering – biomechanics at The University of Akron. Shaye is the daughter of Bob and Gwen Tiell.

Knox County students who are pursuing an engineering degree at an accredited college or university should visit for annual scholarship eligibility guidelines. Annual applications are due in May.

Support Our Journalism

Our content is free and always will be - but we rely on your support to sustain it.