Knox County Chamber of Commerce building

The Knox County Chamber of Commerce is located at 501 S. Main St., in Mount Vernon.

MOUNT VERNON -- The Knox County Chamber of Commerce and Corporate Sponsor, The Energy Cooperative announce the nominees for the Chamber’s annual awards ceremony.

The event will be held virtually on Friday, Jan. 8.

Each year the Chamber Ambassadors nominate individuals/businesses in the following categories. The 2020 nominees are:

Environmental Sustainability Award: Area Development Foundation; Kenyon College; Replex Plastic.

Heart Award: Ariel Foundation - Riverview Park; Knox Community Hospital - Wright Family Medical Pavilion; YMCA.

Quality of Life Award: Knox County Foundation; New Directions; WNZR.

Volunteer of the Year Award: Tonya Boucher; Lisa Lloyd; Dena Hess-McKinstry.

Investor in the Future Award: City of Mount Vernon/Mount Vernon City Schools/ Mount Vernon Nazarene University - Gateway Project; Riverside Recovery Services; SPI Spot.

Women in Business Leadership Award: Lorraine Boss of Buckeye Stoves & Step into Fitness; Jen Odenweller of Ariel Foundation; Amy Smart of Riverside Recovery Services.

Small Business of the Year Award: Knox Area Transit; McDaniel CPA; The Bad Apple Pub.

Business of the Year Award: AMG Industries; CES Credit Union; Knox Public Health.

Entrepreneur Spirit Award: Everlasting Cup; Half Baked Café; Ohio Corporate Photographer.

Leadership Knox Distinguished Alumni Award: Melanie Bolender; Lisa Lloyd; Amy Smart.

The Judy Klavins Ambassador of the Year Award and the Lifetime Achievement Award will be revealed at the virtual video premier release on Jan. 8.

Join us as we honor the nominees and recipients.

Visit to register online or email to learn more about sponsorship opportunities.

Support Our Journalism

Our stories will always be free to read, but they aren't free to produce. We need your support. To help our news organization tell Knox County's story every day, join our team. Become a member today.