logo 2 allwhite evenbiggest
Mount Vernon, Knox County, Ohio

MOUNT VERNON - St. Paul's Episcopal Church on East High Street is celebrating the 200th anniversary of its founding. Church member Cecelia McClelland said, “We’re collecting things in 200 to celebrate the 200th anniversary,” McClelland said. “Like medicine [supplies] to send to Belize.”

The bicentennial celebration continues through November. The Diocese of Ohio was established by the 12th General Convention of The Episcopal Church in 1817. Ohio was the first diocese established beyond the original 13 colonies. The Episcopal Church in Ohio split into two dioceses in 1875. The 48 counties in northern Ohio retained the name The Episcopal Diocese of Ohio, and the 40 counties in Southern Ohio took the name The Episcopal Diocese of Southern Ohio. The Diocese of Ohio currently has 86 parishes and 16,000 members.

St Pauls ext

St. Paul's Episcopal Church in Mount Vernon - KP Photo


St. Paul’s Mount Vernon was organized in 1829 and has over 100 parishioners. They welcome everyone to join them in worship and participate in their outreach efforts. The people of St. Paul’s share long term service with Interchurch Social Services, Winter Sanctuary Emergency Homeless Shelters and offer Sunday Suppers - free, hot meals each week. To grow in service to their communities and to celebrate the Diocese of Ohio’s 200 years, parishes and communicants are establishing “200s.”

Each congregation has a Bicentennial Missioner who is helping to ask “What’s your 200?” as a way of identifying and taking on new or increased disciplines of prayer, service, giving, advocating and inviting. St. Paul’s and the Diocese of Ohio reflect on their past and celebrate their present; they keep their eyes on the future. Together, they are “committing to a new century serving God’s mission.”

Local Weather

First Knox logo 300 x 225